United Nations (UN) General Assembly Elects Five Judges to International Court of Justice
By Rick Soto, Editor

-111320) The United Nations (UN) General Assembly elected five judges via secret ballot to serve on the International Court of Justice for nine (9) years in the Hague beginning February 6 2021.

The five (5) judges elected from the 193 member states were Yuji Iwasawa (Japan) with 169 votes; Georg Nolte (Germany) with 160 votes; Xue Hanqin (China), the Courts Vice-President with 155 votes; Peter Tomka (Slovakia) with 150 votes; and Julia Sebutinde (Uganda) with 139 votes.

Yuji Iwasawa (Japan) was previously Chair of the Human Rights Committee (International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights), and Professor of International Law at the University of Tokyo.

Georg Nolte (Germany) is a recent member and previous Chair of the International Law Commission, interpretation of treaties, and Professor of International Law at Humboldt University in Berlin.

Xue Hanqin (China) previously an Ambassador to the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN), and Ambassador to the Netherlands and Permanent Representative to the Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons.

Peter Tomka (Slovakia) was previously Vice-President followed by President of the Court, and foreign ministry in numerous legal advisory capacities.

Julia Sebutinde (Uganda) was previously appointed Judge of the High Court of Uganda, chaired three high-level commissions of inquiry into alleged corruption in the Uganda Police Force, Uganda Peoples Defence Forces and Uganda Revenue Authority, as well as, appointed the Presiding Judge in the trial of Charles Taylor, former President of Liberia.

The United Nations (UN) International Court of Justice settles legal disputes between States parties, gives advisory opinions to the Organization and its specialized agencies.

Currently, 10 judges of the Court whose terms expire in 2024 or 2027 are its President, Abdulqawi Ahmed Yusuf (Somalia); Ronny Abraham (France); Mohamed Bennouna (Morocco); Antonio Augusto Cancado Trindade (Brazil); Joan E. Donoghue (United States); Dalveer Bhandari (India); Patrick Lipton Robinson (Jamaica); James Richard Crawford (Australia); Kirill Gevorgian (Russian Federation); and Nawaf Salam (Lebanon).

Source: UN

Politics News


About Us Executive Members Partners Press Subscribe Photography
©Copyright 1998-2020. The Journal for Innovation Corporation. All Rights Reserved.
Designed by GlobalClosers

Disclaimer Privacy Policy